Associated Students Hosts Women’s Recognition Awards

The Associated Students hosted their annual Women’s Recognition Awards last week to cap Women’s History Month. A.S. President and Student Ambassador Angel Garcia, who contributes to @Cypress and the college Twitter feed, reports here on the event.

Women's Recognition Awardees 2016

The Associated Students hosted our annual Women’s Recognition Awards last Wednesday, March 30 to celebrate Women’s History Month.

Women's Recognition 2016

In this ceremony, we recognize the wonderful women (staff, faculty, administration, and students) on campus for their hard work and dedication to Cypress College. To better gauge as to who to recognize, ballots were given to everyone on campus to nominate women for these categories: Rising Leader, Most Dedicated, Most Inspirational, Most Contributing, Most Warmhearted, and Woman of the Year.

Women's Recognition Students 2016Associated Students Chief of Staff Lona Redd was the head coordinator of this event, and the rest of the AS team helped make it all happen. Student Trustee Tanya Washington and I hosted the ceremony, and we were joined by Vice President of Campus Activities Amanda Aros and AS Committee Member Perla Bravo, who presented the awards.

Women's Recognition 2016 Karen Cant

We are very grateful to have had two amazing speakers at our event: Cypress College Vice President Karen Cant and Legacy Program Coordinator and Social Sciences Professor Regina Rhymes. Both of these amazing ladies shared their personal experiences as women working in their fields, and inspired all of us by proving the quote, “Women hold up half of the sky,” being true.

Women's Recognition Awards 2016 Lark Crumpler

Many tears were shed once Student Ambassador Coordinator and Outreach Manager Lark Crumpler was recognized as the Woman of the Year. Although many different people on campus agreed with awarding her with this prestigious award, she was still genuinely surprised! As I wrote the script for this event, I found it incredibly easy describing her dedication and sincerity.

Other award winners include:

Rising Leader
Student Trustee Tanya Washington
AS President Angel Garcia
MEChA Vice President Anissa Garcia
AS Vice President of Campus & District Affairs Rae Gelvin

Most Dedicated
STEM Director/Counselor Yanet Garcia
Dean of Library/Learning Resource Center Dr. Treisa Cassens
Professional Development Coordinator Mary Forman
Professional Development Coordinator Peggy Austin

Most Inspirational
Admissions & Records Specialist Akilah Courtney
Dean of Social Sciences Nina DeMarkey
Puente Program Coordinator/Counselor Dr. Therese Mosqueda-Ponce
Legacy Program Coordinator/Social Sciences Professor Regina Rhymes

Most Contributing
Admissions and Records Specialist and Veterans Program Official Christy Davis
Cypress College Vice President Karen Cant
Honors Program Counselor and Transfer Center Director Penny Gabourie
Career Tech Professor Kathleen Reiland
Executive Assistant Ty Volcy

Most Warmhearted
Social Sciences Division Administrative Assistant Nancy Pound
Career Tech Counselor and Specialist Jane Jepson
Communications Office Outreach/Marketing Assistant Tracy Bassett
EOPS/CARE and CalWorks Program Coordinator Lili Perez-Stroud
Admissions and Records Administrative Assistant Nahid Salkovieh

Honorable Mentions
Academic Senate President and Mortuary Science professor Jolena Grande
Student Equity Director Ashley Griffith
EOPS/CARE Manager Elaine Lipiz Gonzalez
EOPS Specialist Ashley Berry
EOPS Specialist Leilani Matanguihan

%d bloggers like this: