Music Department


Welcome to the Cypress College Music Department!

The Cypress College Music Department offers more than 70 classes in all areas of music study including applied music, music history, music appreciation, piano, commercial and electronic music, recording arts, and a variety of vocal and instrumental performance ensembles.

High School Outreach

The Music Department is committed to making visits to local schools to provide enrichment to the high school and junior high music programs. The Music faculty frequently volunteer to provide clinics and bring their performance groups to area schools.

Discounted or free tickets to all of our campus concerts are available to high school and junior high students. For more information about obtaining free or discounted tickets to one or more of our concerts on campus, please contact Diane Villegas at (714) 484-7140 or by email at dvillegas@cypresscollege.edu

To arrange a tour of the music department, organize a clinic for your high school or junior high ensemble, or to answer any questions about the Cypress College Music Department, contact us at (714) 484-7140.

Scholarships

Music scholarships are provided to our students through funds raised by the Cypress College Foundation and the Cypress College Patrons of the Arts. These scholarships are awarded at the end of each spring semester.

Music Programs

Our Applied Music program is for the student seeking individual instruction on piano, voice, guitar or any standard band or orchestra instrument. A performance at Faculty Juries is required each semester. Vocal and instrumental students are required to concurrently enroll in a vocal or instrumental performing ensemble. Guitarists and pianists should consult with faculty for an appropriate concurrent course. Auditions for the Applied Music Program are held on the first Friday of each semester in FA-304.

The Electronic Music and Recording Arts program at Cypress College was established to create an environment that provides professional training for the aspiring engineer/composer/producer.  Courses offered  are designed to take students through a path that will introduce the creative aspect of music making, while incorporating hands-on training with the latest available hardware, software, and plug-ins.

The goal of the program is to introduce the musician to technology and the technologist to music, producing a  well-informed student who can succeed in an ever-changing field.

Performance Ensemble Auditions

For more information about ensembles and ensemble auditions, please contact:

Jazz Band/Swing Band

Director, Gary Gopar

E: ggopar@cypresscollege.edu

Masterworks Chorale, Concert Choir & Chamber Singers

Director, Terra Hurdle

E: thurdle@cypresscollege.edu

Ensembles

Vocal Music

The Chamber Singers is a select group of 24 mixed voices performing in a variety of classical repertoire ranging from Renaissance madrigals to contemporary literature. The ensemble performs four major concerts per year, participates in regional music festivals, and performs at numerous locations throughout the Los Angeles basin. Open to both students and members of the community with extensive singing experience.

Instrumental Music

This ensemble studies the rehearsal and performance of jazz band literature. Sight reading is emphasized as a musical concept. The band performs in concert each semester, and student compositions and arrangements are encouraged.

Vocal and Instrumental Performance

For the student seeking individual instruction on piano, voice, guitar or any standard band or orchestra instrument. A performance at Faculty Juries is required each semester. Vocal and instrumental students are required to concurrently enroll in a vocal or instrumental performing ensemble. Guitarists and pianists should consult with faculty for an appropriate concurrent course.

What Our Music Faculty Teach

Full-Time

Gary Gopar — Instrumental Music, Band, Theory, Hip-Hop, Film Music.
E: ggopar@cypresscollege.edu
Marcus McMillan — Commercial Music, Music Tech. and Recording Arts, Songwriting, Guitar.
E: mmcmillian@cypresscollege.edu
Terra Hurdle — Choir, Voice, Theory, Jazz History, Jazz Improv.
E: thurdle@cypresscollege.edu

Adjunct

Rex Amend — Music Appreciation (online).
E: ramend@cypresscollege.edu
LaVaun Beyer — Piano, Music Fundamentals.
E: lbeyer@cypresscollege.edu
Duane Broberg — American Popular Music.
E: dbroberg@cypresscollege.edu
Peter Buck — Applied Music, Percussion, Jazz History.
E: pbuck@cypresscollege.edu
Rose Chen — Piano, Music Fundamentals, Keyboard Skills.
E: rchen@cypresscollege.edu
Brian Curtin — History of Rock (online), Music Appreciation (online).
E: bcurtin@cypresscollege.edu
Dana Decker — Audio Production for Film and Gaming.
E: dadecker@cypresscollege.edu
Tristen (Vincent) Hizon — History of Rock.
E: vhizon@cypresscollege.edu
Dimitry Koudymov — Guitar, Intro to Piano.
E: dkoudymov@cypresscollege.edu
Dana Parker — Music Tech.
E: dparker@cypresscollege.edu
Andreas Preponis — Class Voice, Applied Voice.
E: apreponis@cypresscollege.edu
Ron Segovia — Music Fundamentals, History of Rock.
E: rsegovia@cypresscollege.edu
Jim Simmons — Music Fundamentals (online).
E: jsimmons@cypresscollege.edu

Staff

Diane Villegas, Music Department Office Manager
T: (714) 484-7140
E: dvillegas@cypresscollege.edu

Bradley Hampton, Staff Accompanist
T: (714) 484-7023
E: bhampton@cypresscollege.edu