Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

Chair: President JoAnna Schilling
Chair Contact: jschilling@cypresscollege.edu / (714) 484-7308
Meeting Dates: 2nd Wednesday of every month
Meeting Time: 3–4 p.m.
Meeting Location: CCCPLX-419
A.S. Representative: Vacant

The Cypress College Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee is a shared governance committee chaired by the president of the college to fulfill our mission.

Mission Statement

Cypress College enriches students’ lives by providing high quality education for transfer to four-year institutions, associate degrees, career technical education, and certificate coursework, as well as basic skills and opportunities for lifelong learning. The college is committed to promoting student learning and success, embracing diversity, and contributing to both the economic and social development of the surrounding community.

Annual Theme

2017-2018: Pathways Forward: Inspiring diversity, inclusivity, and collegiality

Monthly Focus

September Hispanic Heritage Month
October Disabilities Awareness Month
National Diversity Awareness Month
November Native American Heritage Month
International Education Week (November 14-18)
December AIDS Awareness (November 21-December 2)
Kwanzaa Awareness
January Japanese and Chinese New Year
Vietnamese Tet
February Black History Month
March Women’s Recognition Month
April Sexual Assault Awareness Month
May Asian Pacific Islander Heritage Month
Religious Diversity Awareness
June Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Awareness Month


Campus Resources

Equity Alliance Resources

Click on the links below for resources on previous Equity Alliance E-convenings.

Engaging in Productive Conversations About Race
Presenter: Shaun R. Harper, Ph.D.

Fostering and Sustaining Inclusive Classrooms for Students of Color
Presenter: Shaun R. Harper, Ph.D.

Understanding and Addressing Implicit Bias
Presenter: Julie R. Posselt, Ph.D.

Understanding and Confronting Anti-Black Racism
Presenter: Frank Harris III, Ed.D.

Meaningfully Integrating Race Across the Curriculum
Presenter: Shaun R. Harper, Ph.D.

Recruiting and Hiring Faculty of Color
Presenter: Shaun R. Harper, Ph.D.

NOCCCD Land & Labor Acknowledgement: A Call to Action

Cypress College is located on the unceded ancestral lands shared by the Gabrielino-Tongva Nation and the Juaneño Band of Mission Indians/Acjachemen Nation, who have been the traditional caretakers since time immemorial. Tongva and Acjachemen peoples maintain a strong presence in North Orange County and throughout Southern California, protecting their homelands, knowledge systems, and cultures for the next seven generations. We acknowledge the ingenuity, survival, resilience, and strength of their descendants and relatives––past, present, and emerging. We also acknowledge the labor of those who work on and care for these lands, both in the past and today, and all those who act in solidarity with Indigenous struggles.

This land acknowledgement was developed by the Native America Faculty and Staff Alliance and the Fullerton College Ethnic Studies Department and we honor their work on our behalf.

To request copies of archived agendas and minutes, please contact the committee chair.