Planning & Budget Committee


Chair: Stephen Schoonmaker
Chair Contact: sschoonmaker@cypresscollege.edu
Meeting Dates: 1st and 3rd Thursday of every month
Meeting Time: 1:30–3:30 p.m.
Meeting Location: CCCPLX-419
A.S. Representative: Vacant


Purpose

The purpose of the Planning and Budget Committee (PBC) is to serve as the primary recommending body to the President’s Advisory Cabinet on general budget and planning issues for the campus and to convey to PAC the views of the campus community on matters relevant to both budget and planning for the College. All actions of PBC will be communicated to its constituencies in the form of full minutes. These minutes will reflect full discussion, including the intent of PBC.

Structure

The PBC is a college-wide committee with representation from all constituencies.  This committee makes recommendations to PAC on a regular basis. Recommendations shall be approved by PAC prior to campus implementation.  Senate represents the faculty on academic and professional matters as defined in Title 5 of the California Education Code on Strengthening Academic Senates.  The United Faculty represents the faculty on wages, hours and working conditions, and on contractual matters.  The California School Employees Association (CSEA) represents the classified staff on wages, hours, working conditions, and contractual matters. The District Management Association (DMA) represents Cypress College managers and their views regarding affected areas in deliberating and formulating decisions.  Students are represented by the Associated Students and have rights as defined in Title 5. Regardless of these constituent organizational characterizations it is expected and essential that all committee members will endeavor to fully participate and contribute in every aspect of the committee’s business for the betterment of Cypress College and success of its students.

Composition of PBC Membership

Since 1995, the former Budget and Campus Planning Committees were combined into one committee, now referred to as the Planning and Budget Committee (PBC). The voting members of the PBC are the following:

  • Vice President, Administrative Services
  • Vice President, Instruction
  • Vice President, Student Services
  • Director, Institutional Research and Planning
  • Academic Senate President
  • Academic Senate Designee
  • United Faculty Representative
  • CSEA Representative
  • CSEA Representative
  • CSEA Representative
  • Associated Student Representative
  • Associated Student Representative
  • Associated Student Representative
  • Program Review Chair

The following are non-voting Resource Advisors:

  • Chair, Curriculum Committee
  • Coordinator, Staff Development
  • Dean, Counseling and Student Development
  • Instructional Dean (selected by VPI)
  • Student Services Representative (selected by VPSS)
  • Director, Academic Computing
  • Director, Campus Communications
  • Manager, International Student Program
  • Director, SSSP
  • Strategic Plan Direction Chairs

PBC Membership 2022-2023

Voting Members

NameTitleEmail
Stephen Schoonmaker – Co-chairVPASsschoonmaker@cypresscollege.edu
Bryan Ventura – Co-chairDirector, IRPbventura@cypresscollege.edu
Kathleen ReilandVPIkreiland@cypresscollege.edu
Paul de DiosVPSSpdedios@cypresscollege.edu
Damon de la CruzAcademic Senate Presidentddelacruz@cypresscollege.edu
Kathleen McAlisterAcademic Senate Designeekmcalister@cypresscollege.edu
Mary (Fola) OdebunmiUnited Faculty Representativefodebunmi@cypresscollege.edu
Aaron PilkeyCSEA Representativeapilkey@cypresscollege.edu
Barbara WoolnerCSEA Representativebwoolner@cypresscollege.edu
Belinda AllanCSEA Representativeballan@cypresscollege.edu
Marbelly JairamCSEA Rep Alternatemjairam@cypresscollege.edu
Lauren CapulongAssociated Student Representativelauryn.capulong@gmail.com
Kisha MehtaAssociated Student RepresentativeMehtakisham@gmail.com
VacantAssociated Student Representative 
Stephanie RosatiProgram Review Chairsrosati@cypresscollege.edu

Resource Members (Non-voting)

NameTitleEmail
Joyce PeacockChair, Curriculum Committeejpeacock@cypresscollege.edu
Michael BrydgesCoordinator, Professional Developmentmbrydges@cypresscollege.edu  
Troy DavisDean, Counseling and Student Developmenttdavis@cypresscollege.edu
Colin PrestonInstructional Dean (VPI selects)cpreston@cypresscollege.edu
VacantDean, Student Services Representative (selected by VPSS) 
Jose SanchezDirector, Academic Computingjsanchez@cypresscollege.edu
Marc PosnerDirector, Campus Communicationsmposner@cypresscollege.edu
Yongmi HanManager, International Student Programyhan@cypresscollege.edu
 VacantDirector, Student Equity and Achievement 
Howard KummermanDirector, Foundationhkummerman@cypresscollege.edu
Rick HodgeDean, CTErhodge@cypresscollege.edu  
Thu NguyenBusiness Office Specialistttnguyen@cypresscollege.edu

To request copies of archived agendas and minutes, please contact the committee chair.