Academic Senate

Home » About » Cypress College Governance » Academic Senate

Chair: Kathleen McAlister
Chair Contact:
Meeting Dates: 2nd and 4th Thursday of every month
Meeting Time: 3–5 p.m.
Meeting Location: CCCPLX-414


The Academic Senate’s primary purpose is to represent all faculty in consulting collegially with the Board of Trustees and its representatives regarding academic and professional matters affecting the college and the district. This requirement to consult collegially shall not limit other rights and responsibilities of the Academic Senate which are specifically provided in statute.

The Academic Senate is thus to have a formal and effective procedure for participating in the formation and implementation of campus and district policies on academic and professional matters, and any other matters deemed important to the welfare of the college and the district.

  1. Academic and professional matters are defined in the Education Code and Title 5. Section §53200c of Title 5 defines these as the 10 +1 areas over which the Academic Senate has primacy:
  2. Curriculum, including establishing prerequisites and placing courses within disciplines
  3. Degree and certificate requirements
  4. Grading policies
  5. Educational program development, review, or discontinuance
  6. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success
  7. District and college governance structures, as related to faculty roles
  8. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes, including self-study and annual reports
  9. Policies for faculty professional development activities
  10. Processes for program review
  11. Processes for institutional planning and budget development, and

Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon by the Board of Trustees and the Academic Senate.

Consulting collegially is defined as the Board of Trustees relying primarily on the advice and judgment of the Academic Senate OR the Board of Trustees and the Academic Senate reaching mutual agreement.

The Academic Senate shall also have the purpose of increased communication, awareness, and understanding with and among various entities, including the members of the college faculty as a whole, other groups concerned with the policies, welfare, and growth of the college, district representatives acting on matters affecting faculty concerns and interests, and statewide organizations.

The Cypress College Academic Senate is committed to creating a collegial and professional climate in which to share ideas and engage discourse. The Senate is committed to the principles of respect and decorum. Senators will conduct themselves in a manner that is respectful of others, recognizing that disagreement and debate can occur without demeaning and disparaging one another.

Reporting Relationships

The following committees report to the Academic Senate:

  1. The Curriculum Committee shall be responsible for reviewing issues and making recommendations related to curriculum and curriculum related matters as outlined in the committee’s guiding documents.
  2. The Student Learning Outcomes Committee shall be responsible for assisting, supporting, and guiding Faculty as they develop, implement, and evaluate both CSLOs and PSLOs in an effort to improve teaching and student learning in courses, programs, certificates, and degrees, as well as making recommendations related to instructional Student Learning Outcomes as outlined in the committee’s guiding documents.
  3. The Instructional Program Review Committee shall be responsible for reviewing departmental program reports, making commendations and recommendations, assigning completion status, and issuing the annual report as outlined in the committee’s guiding documents. 

Membership Composition

Officers, Faculty:

  1. President
  2. President-Elect or Past President
  3. Secretary
  4. Treasurer

Additional Representatives, Faculty:

  1. Curriculum Chair
  2. IDEAA Ombuds

Division Senators, Faculty:

Divisions of up to 14 members having one Senator, those with 15 to 29 having two, and those with 30 and over having three (with elections as specified in the By-Laws).

  1. Business and Computer Information Systems
  2. Career Technical Education
  3. Counseling/Student Development
  4. Visual and Performing Arts
  5. Health Science
  6. Language Arts
  7. Library/LRC
  8. Kinesiology and Athletics
  9. Science, Engineering, and Mathematics
  10. Social Sciences
  11. Adjunct Faculty

Liaisons: Resource/Support (non-voting)

Current Membership

2023-2024 Academic Senate


  • President – Kathleen McAlister
  • Past President – Damon de la Cruz
  • Secretary – Jaclyn Magginetti
  • Treasurer – Giovanni Magginetti 
  • Curriculum Chair – Joyce Peacock
  • IDEAA Ombuds – Michael Brydges

Division Senators:

Business/CIS Division: (1)

  • Kathleen Troy

Career Technical Education Division: (2)

  • Jacqueline Aguet
  • Enrique Aispuro

Counseling and Student Development Division: (2)

  • LaRon Armstead
  • Daniel Pelletier

Health Science Division: (3)

  • Michael Frianeza
  • Sally McNay
  • Vacant

Language Arts Division: (3)

  • Samantha Simmons
  • Karen Le Cornet
  • Alison Robertson

Library/Learning Resource Center: (1)

  • Leslie Palmer

Kinesiology Division: (1)

  • Sergio Cutrona

Science/Engineering/Mathematics Division: (3)

  • Joel Gober
  • Christina Plett
  • Vacant

Social Sciences Division: (2)

  • Hilary Reuter
  • Jaclyn Magginetti

Visual and Performing Arts Division: (2)

  • Aydinaneth Ortiz
  • Donivan Howard

Adjunct Senators: (3)

  • Layal Lebdeh
  • Giovanni Magginetti
  • Kasim Alimahomed

Terms of Membership

  1. President, 2 years
  2. President-Elect, 1 year
  3. Past President, 1 year
  4. Secretary, 1 year
  5. Treasurer, 1 year
  6. Curriculum Chair, duration of term as Chair
  7. IDEAA Ombuds, 2 years
  8. Senators, 2 years


Welcome to the Cypress College Academic Senate website. This site is designed for all Cypress College faculty members to have up-to-date Academic Senate information and to feel better connected to our shared governance process. Here you will be able to find information regarding current topics, how to get involved, Senate meeting dates, minutes and agendas, and so much more!

The Cypress College Academic Senate is faculty representing faculty in the shared governance process. Faculty participation is vital to the strength and growth of our college community. In order to serve our students in the fullest way possible, it is important for faculty across the campus to be involved in institutional planning and implementation of academic programs.

Join Us!

All faculty members are welcome to make comments and express concerns regarding issues not on the agenda during public commentary. Faculty members are also welcome to contribute to the discussion of agenda items during each meeting.

  • Meeting Times: 3 to 5 p.m.
  • Meeting Days: Second and Fourth Thursday of each month
  • Upcoming Agenda

To request copies of archived agendas and minutes, please contact the committee chair.